Home > People



The Council comprises seven members and is advised and supported by the Clerk. You can find the names and contact details of councillors is in the table below.

Councillors are always pleased to hear from members of the community - if you would like to raise an issue, please contact one of them. You can click on any of the names below to send an email.

The Council takes probity seriously and works to a Code of Conduct - this is available to view on the left of this page. In order to avoid conflicts of interest, whenever a member is elected, re-elected or co-opted they must declare any financial or similar interests that they have.

There is a Register of Interests for all councillors. When a Councillor has declared a Pecuniary Interest in a matter related to Council business, they are normally unable to participate in any associated debate and decision-making. However, in some circumstances Councillors are eligible to seek a written dispensation which, if granted, enables her or him either to just participate in discussion or to participate in decision-making too. The Declarations of Interest of current members can be found in the table below.

Each year, at the Annual Meeting of the Council held in the Spring, the members elect a Chair and Vice-Chair. The current Chair's position is vacant.


There are currently several vacancies on the council - if you could be interested in serving your village in this way, please contact the Clerk.


Clerk to the Council

The Clerk to the Council is responsible for advising and supporting the Council, setting and publishing the agenda for meetings, calling most types of meeting and for implementing the decisions and policies of the Council.

The Clerk is generally the first point of contact for Council business - please contact her if you need information about any aspect of the Council's work or if you have any questions or queries.


Clerk Address Contact Register of Interests

Michelle Fisher

7 Hillside, Poslingford, Sudbury, CO10 8RB


Tel: 07720256360





Timothy Elliot  Guildhall Cottage, The Street, Hessett, IP30 9AX  cllrtimelliot@hessettparishcouncil.gov.uk

Click Here

Margaret Shaw  Alwyd, The Street, Hessett. IP30 9AZ  cllrmaggieshaw@hessettparishcouncil.gov.uk Click Here


Philip Barrett

 White Cottage, Heath Road, Hessett, IP30 9BJ  cllrphilbarrett@hessettparishcouncil.gov.uk  Click Here
Andrew Pearson  10 Hearth Close, Hessett, IP30 9BL  cllrandrewpearson@hessettparishcouncil.gov.uk  Click Here
Richard Merryfield      Click Here
Vacant      Click Here
Vacant      Click Here